If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

"The end justifies the means" is a common saying that people have used to support their actions or endeavours. While it inherently human to be driven to achieve various goals, the means of acheiving such objectives deserves careful consideration. Hence, I mostly disagree with the proposition that if an aim is worthy, then any methods used to achieve it are justifiable. My position is based on two reasons although I concede that there are certain instances where any means available should be taken to reach a desired target.

First of all, the worthiness of the goal cannot by itself make the means acceptable or valid in all cases. For example, the act of removing destructive militants or rebels from a place of is generally considered a worthy cause, however there was a government in West Africa that resorted to bombing and sacking the entire inhabitants of a town in the because as an means of dislodging the such dissidents. The action, which resulted in the deaths of many people - not affiliated with rebels - and significant loss of property and means of livelihood, led to huge condemnation of the government from across the world. Another example is the public execution of condemned criminals which was popular in several nations at some time. While it can be argued that the elimination of these undesirable persons is for general good and the public show of the execution could strongly deter people from commiting crime, there are other effective means of mitigating crime or criminals which make this method unjustifiable. Thus, as evident in the examples, applying any available means to attain a noble cause or worthy goal is usually not prudent, as the overall costs of the means or methods could undermine or even outweigh the perceived benefits of the goal being pursued.

Secondly, a goal can be subjective. As human beings differ, so do our interests, ambitions and objectives. So a goal that seems worthy to one person may not be so for other people. To illustrate ths point, consider someone whose personal aim is to be elected to political office in his or her community. However, this person does not meet certain requirements - e.g. the educational qualification - to qualify as a candidate for election. Such person could consider the forging these educational documentation inorder to meet the set criteria. That the act of forgery goes undetected and the person eventually wins the election does not justify the act. Infact, such action is usually perceived as selfish and against the common goal of the electorate to get good leaders through elections. Thus, a person could have a desired target but it would be inconsiderate for one to validate his or her approach to meeting that goal based solely on (personal) perspective that the goal is worthy without considering the views and interests of other persons impacted by such approach.

Nevertheless, I admit that there are cases where any means should be used to acheive an objective. For example, consider a child on the verge of death due been trapped alone in a burning apartment building and rescue workers are unable to arrive the scene promptly. It may be prudent for anyone present to use any available means to rescue the child including deliberating breaking through (i.e. forcefully damaging) parts of the building (which were hitherto unaffected by the fire outbreak) instead of waiting for fire personnel. However, as illustrated by the example, these are not extreme situations that are not expected to occur often. In conclusion, I mostly do not agree with the statement in the prompt and I believe that careful thought and consideration should guide the the selection of the means to achieving an aim.