The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Dr Karp and his team state that their interview centered approach would prove more accurate information based on the rearing traditions of the Tertia, but how do they know for sure if their method of research does in fact bring in more accurate data? Dr. Field's observation study could have also included interview methods as well and not strictly observation methods to come to a conclusion on what the type of child rearing was done by the Tertia. The observation group took a whole picture point of view versus just an interview approach which could have shown data correlation with the idea that the child rearing was done as a community versus strictly done by the biological parent. This means Dr. Field took a look at the whole village in its entirety. Dr. Karp only assumes that the observation method was used. Dr. Karp does not go into detail on how their research was fully conducted in order to come to their alternative undeveloped conclusion. The interview approach only stated that they spoke with the children and that they spoke about their biological parents more than the other villagers, but this statement cannot outright invalidate Dr. Field's conclusion strictly with this information. Dr Karp could have been collecting data on the basis that the children actually live with their biological parents for most of the time therefore which could increase the likelihood of the children increasing the mentions of their biological parents in interviews conducted by Dr. Karp's Team. Dr. Karp does not indicate whether or not they did any other additional research besides the interviews with the children. The conclusion that all observation centered approaches to studying all cultures should be invalid is unwarranted.