Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents and create a foundation of success for them later in life. If we let the talent of a child just simmer and not at least facilitate a little growth in that area they might miss out on opportunities in the future. Take for example, Tiger Woods, he is one of the greatest golfers in the world. He started out when he was merely four years of age and his father saw this great gift his son had and jumped at that opportunity for success. With identifying the young talents you can allow them to grow as an individual and set up a foundation to when they can use their talents as a tool for life. Parents who see these talents in their child can not only help the child increase and develop those talents even further, it allows an opportunity for the parents to become involved with the child's life and create a positive family dynamic. Thus is very advantageous for the child's overall development, especially if the talent is something a child loves to do. This especially true when it comes to sports because practice and proper training is required to become an elite athlete. Another example is gymnastics, gymnastics is a sport where skills are developed at a very young age. Gymnasts start when they are toddlers this is good for mental and cognitive development. The increasing the child's capability in their field can have effects that trickle down further into life such as leading to potential scholarships for college.

However, focusing on a child's special talent can have negative effects such as resentment or missing out on other normal developmental social activities. If a child does show a talent in a particular area, but may not necessarily love doing, it may have an adverse effect if it is pushed to continue further. Let's go back to Tiger, he was a child golfer turned into a world champion at a young age. The outcome is good yes, but he did miss out on a lot of normal social interaction compared to a normal child. He missed out in teenage years on the ability to maintain friendships due to the obsession of golf. Golf was the number one priority to him and his father. This led to miss gathering with friends, missed school days, and otherwise normal social interaction in his age group. Tiger was trained to live breath golf from an early age which could lead to resentment and anger toward the game and family.

By allowing a child to be pushed to succeed in their talents, is a positive thing and it allows the child to grow as an individual and develop a foundation for success, especially in sports. This would be especially beneficial to the child if they love their talent. They can grow this talent into something that can lay a foundation for their future and help them succeed in life.