The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries are close to one another, but the Panoply company has one hour shorter shifts and a 30 percent lower accident rate over the past year. Quiot claims that if they decrease their shifts by one hour as well they are sure to decrease the amount of on the job accidents versus the past year's accident rate. Quiot stands by the experts claim that the reason for the on the job accidents are due to lack of sleep and fatigue. Can fatigue be the only reason on which they had an increase of on the job accidents last year? What if it is the quality of training given to their workers rather than the amount of sleep that workers obtain outside of work. the amount of sleep an individual gets is not an aspect a company can control. They have to put other factors in place in order to decrease the amount of on the job accidents that occur and not stand by the assumption that fatigue and lack of sleep are the only cause of the accidents. In regards to their claim to the increase of productivity with the shortened shifts and decrease in on the job accidents can be slightly warranted because with the decrease of accidents less time on fixing those and more time the workers can continue their jobs. The decrease in shift times may not accomplish the goal the company is trying to achieve. This could be due to the allotted time for work and the time requirement needed to complete the required task for the job. The Quiot company and Panoply could be manufacturing two different products that require two sets of time requirements and completion steps. Depending on what each company makes the safety hazards for each company could be weighed differently versus the other company. The Quiot company could be producing items that are more hazardous to the employees versus Panoply's items. That could be the reason for the increase of on the job accidents compared from the past year. The sole reason that the company Quiot puts their company's higher rate of on the job accidents is due to lack of sleep and fatigue shows to be unwarranted due to other apparent potential cause to the that higher rate of accident at Quiot.