The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The company, Sartorian, wants to resume production of their alpaca coats after 5 years of no production. The alpaca coats have since been discontinued by their competitor. Sartorian believes that the lack of completion will encourage demand for their alpaca coats, thus increasing overall company profit. As time past, the inflation occurred thus, Sartorian believes that this will allow customers to pay an increased price for their coats. The question is how does the correlation of lack of competitors and increase in inflation correspond to increase sale if their alpaca coats?

Firstly, let's take a look at the assumption that since the competitor does not sell alpaca coats anymore there will be customers waiting to make a purchase. The competition could of stopped the production of alpacacoats because the lack of demand. People's style and social trends change as time moves along. Therefore, how does the company know for sure that their customers indeed do want to purchase their alpaca coats. The company could run into problems where they do resume production of the coats, but there is no desire in the market for the alpaca coats.

The next assumption is that the company, Sartotian, assumes that their new supplier will be reliable and produce high quality wool. What if the supply line is slow and not enough wool to produce the amount of coats the company desires. The supplier could fall through on the delivery of the requested wool. The company does not indicate quality checks of their supplier. This could potiently decrease the quality of the new alpaca coats compared to the previously produced coats.

Lastly, we will take a look at the assumtion of the consumer willing to pay the increase price of the coats. The company does not have enough infomation about the current market to assume that the consumer will pay the requested price. As said before, the consumer may not have the desire to purchase alpaca coats due to them being out of style. Trends in society has a huge impact of what products are pruchased. The company could make the wrong move by continuing a product that could be potentially left on the shelves.

Thus, the company correlating the increase profit due to the lack of competion, the assumption of current increase demand, and the willingness of customers to pay the increase price weakens Sartorian's arrugment due to the lack of information about current social trends. The company is not sure weather or not the consumer is willing to pay the price or is in fact intrested in buying alpaca coats. Sartorian should gather more information about the market before continuing the production of the alpaca coats to make sure they will indeed increase profits.