The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, we predict that our new jazz music club in Monroe will be a tremendously profitable enterprise."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The city of Monroe is wanting to open a jazz club and believe it will be tremendously profitable due to the closest jazz club being an hour away, jazz highest rated tv show, jazz fans spend about $1000 annually, and on the large attendance of last summer's festival. How is the city of Monroe able to be sure that profitability only depends on these factors?

Let's take a look at the number of attendants at last year's Jazz festival being a contributor to the tremendous profit a Jazz club may bring. How is the city sure that the number of people who went was in fact due to the jazz music? People could have been drawn due to the function being a free event and since it was free, there is no initial financial cost to the consumer. The festival could have been on a nice weather day and possibly on a weekend to where there would be an increase of attendance just because of the good weather.

Furthermore, the small business sees that the distance of the nearest Jazz club affects the likelihood of the profitability of the new Jazz music club. What if the distance to the nearest club is relative? People travel hours to see places and people travel an hour and a half just to eat at their favorite restaurant. This would not be a valid assumption to correlate the amount of money a company will make.

Lastly, the assumptions of the Jazz TV show rating and the amount of money a person spends on Jazz does not translate perfectly into the amount of money the club will make. How do the owners prove that that national average and the tve rating of the local city correlate to the club's profitability? The average rating and the average spending could be due to other causes. People who watch Jazz entertainment could also be buying Jazz music or Jazz memorabilia not necessarily on Jazz music clubs.

In conclusion, the city of Monroe should take into account all the assumptions that the small business correlates the success of the Jazz club too. Correlation doesn't equal causation. The facts of the attendance of the festival and the distance of the nearest Jazz club does not accurately depict the true success and profitability of the potential new Jazz club.