The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The assumptions of Dr. Karp, an anthropologist are written in his memo about the past survey was false and his team of graduated students can gain accurate understanding of child-rearing in the island with the interview approach. The author ignored important information and some question should be answered in order to decide the recommendation is likely to have predicted results.

First, these two surveys are done in the different time and place conditions. So, it is entirely possible that Dr. Field’s survey was correct just for Tretia, not elsewhere, and at the twenty years ago, not now. In this way, comparing the results of these surveys is not logically, unless the author provides more information about condition in Tretia and other Island during twenty years ago. Although, the second survey reflects of Tretia at now, it is quite possible residents in Tertia have more responsible for rearing each other children in twenty years ago, while some conflicts or changing generations making the different conditions. Without considering this possible scenario, the author cannot justifiably conclude that a survey, which Dr. Field did, is false.

Second, Dr. Karp provides no assurance that a survey on which the argument depends is statistically reliable. The author does not provide information of the number of children, who participated in the interview. Perhaps the number of respondents was too low to ensure that the result of survey is right. In addition, if the respondents of island may are not representative of children in Tretia, the author cannot generalize the result of a survey to all children.

Third, the author relies on the fact that speaking more about parents is an indication children was reared by parents. However, it is not necessarily the case. Parents may teach some important traditional to the children, which affect them significantly, while children spend much time with other resident in this island.

In the fourth place, base on the fact that interviews can results accurate information, the author infers that a team of graduated students will establish a much more accurate understanding of the matter. The interview may is best procedure in this matter, while a graduated students might have not enough experience to use this approach. In addition, students can not speak with the native language and they misinterpret of residents’ answers, which affect the survey negatively. Since, the author ignore this effective factors, his conclusion can not be acceptable.

In sum, the argument is flawed rationally and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument the author must provide clear statistical information that Dr. Karp’s reflects all general population in Tretia. In order to evaluate better conclusion, Dr.Krap must give more evidence to supports graduated students can do interview correctly. Moreover, we need to know about the condition of Tertia and other islands.