The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The assumptions of the manager of WWAC radio station are written in the memo about changing radio format to the news and talk format sounds illogically convincing with several reasons. The manager ignored important information and some questions needed to be answered in order to decide that the recommendation is likely to have predicted result.

First, relies in the fact that listener numbers of WWAC have declined, the author infers that audiences do not like rock-music format. However, it is not necessarily the case. People may do not like to spend time for listening radio because they favor to watch television or use the Internet, and this declining listener does not relate format of the radio. Without considering this possible scenario, the author can not justifiably conclude that people do not like listen the radio because of rock-music format.

Second, the author relies that new resident do not like to listen music because declining in the local sales of recorded music. Nonetheless, it is entirely possible the horrible economic condition decrease the peoples’ revenue, so they can not purchase music from stores. Or even, increasing the prices in music store causes people tend to listen to music in radio. Since, the author ignore this possible factors, he can not conclude people are not interest in music.

In the third place, the soundness of the conclusion that news and talk format can attract more listener should be answered by the manager. There is no evidence to show that people’s interested in talk format is more that that of the music format. In short, since the argument relies on limited information, I cannot take the author’s final conclusion seriously.

In sum, the argument is rationally flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide more statistical information of age of population growth. In order to evaluate better the recommendation, we need to know all effective factors decrease the number of listeners and sales music at local stores.