The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above issue is provided a contradiction between two well known scientists. One stated that when twenty years ago he visited an island of Tertia, he evidenced that the children were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. On the contradiction of the statement made by the first scientist another scientist told that when he recently visited the same village he saw completely antithetical circumstance. He evidenced that those children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village and thus he concluded that his hypothesis is much more accurate than the previous one and it should be used to understand the child rearing traditions in the island of Tertia. This anomalous evidences made by the scientists provide an interesting field for argument and as well as create a more ambiguous and vague condition.

The major point which is needed to underscore here is that the first statement made by the anthropologist before twenty years ago and the second statement is made by evidencing the current condition of the island of Tertia. We cannot neglect the time difference between the two statements. There is a huge possibility that twenty years ago the children are reared by the entire village rather than their own biological parents. However, as the world is changing very mutable and it can be possible that now the children of the island of Tertia are reared by their own biological parents. Consequently, there is a huge time gap between two statements and it may be possible that the above statement is also right.

Another most important point to highlight is that in the above argument, it is not clearly mentioned that the whole observation was studied on all the villagers of Tertia. It can be possible that the above observation is applied on between a few children of the island of Tertia. Only by comparing the circumstances and thoughts of a few children we can able to make a conclusion. We need accurate and commensurate evidence to judge the whole condition.

Another cardinal point is, recently the world is become more revolutionized and successful by the help of technologically beneficial environments. Consequently, the observation which is made recently on the children is by using the help of those benign technologies. On the other hand, twenty years ago the technologies are not as improved, advanced and state-of -art now-a-days. So, the observation made before twenty years might possess some inaccurate and wrong evidence. But, only on the basis of possibilities, we cannot able to make any judgments.

In conclusion, it can be asserted that the time difference between the two evidences is extreme high and thus we cannot say on the basis of recent evidence that the above statement is erratic and cannot give a random judgment of this above argument. We should try to gather as more evidence as we can and then after proper analysis we should make any conclusion.