The following appeared in an article written by Dr.Karp , an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr.Field, anoted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his own obseravtions that children in Tertia were rearedby an entire village rather than bytheir own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islamds that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr.Field`s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centerd approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is cuurently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures. "

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument .

While it may be true that Dr. Karp had gone to the island of Tertia to study about the culture of that place and let us even assume that he proved the conclusion by Dr.Field wrong . But the arguments written by him in the article does not make his research clear . There are certain loopholes and assumptions attached to it .

In the very first statement it is mentioned that both , Dr.Karp and Dr. Field , are anthropologists by profession . Anthropologists are those who study human race from the very beginning of life . Then how come both of them are researching about cultures and traditions . According to their profession , their research should be based on origin of life on Tertia , human life on that island etc .

The second loophole found in the argument was when Dr. Field concluded that children of that particular place were reared by the entire village rather than by their own biological parents . The main problem is how can one single child be raised by the entire village . Also every couple in that region would have their own child . According to the given argument the parents in that region were in a habit of looking after every other child in that village except theirs . It is human nature that we always tend to take care and protect the ones who are close. Humans never leave their own relationships and take care of someone else`s .

The opinion placed by Dr.Karp is that his team of graduate students is currently presently in Tertia and is trying interview-centered approach to understand child-rearing traditions there. Firstly , his team is already working on their research and before this it is mentioned that he had proved the argument made by other anthropologiist invalid . Dr.Karp himself had not reached to his own conclusions and he has started crticising someone else`s .

The next mistake found in the article above is that in the last statement the main focus is regarding studying child-rearing traditions and just before that it was written that both the researchers were trying to study cultures of that island . It is not right to compare tradition related to some specific type and culture related to the whole village . It will always lead to erroneous result.

It is always a nice step to volunteer and do research on some new regions with newly developed methods . But before reaching to a conclusion and criticising someone else`s findings , it is a nice practice to test our own .