The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

It might be true that mopeds are the reason for increasing number of accidents in the island. This can also be correct that town council of the island are trying out several ways to control this problem. But the reasons explained by the author for this case are not strong enough and thus, will not make the readers believe the given claim. The claim stated above is rife with several assumptions and holes.

It has been said that town council is limiting the rental services of moped companies to reduce the number of accidents in Balmer island. Here it has been assumed that the accidents are caused only due to mopeds. The town council , leave alone , giving attention to any other causes , is not even finding any other cause of this problem. The second assumption is that limiting the number of rentals by the moped companies ,from 50 percent to 25, will decrease the number of accidents by half. Any step that has been taken for welfare by the society has neither been completely error free nor fully successful in any part of the world. Even if the government of the country will spread complete awareness about this among people and will control all the transportation companies. There might be some companies and people who will disobey this rule. The mopeds companies will never want any loss for themselves. What all of them unite together and start organising rallies against the government. The author is assuming that this problem solving approach was successful in Seaville, neighbouring island , so it will be the same in Balmer. The successful events depend on how the companies and citizens of the country respond to that step. It might be in Balmer, this will not be accepted as much as it was in Seaville.

The step to control this problem could have been in a better position if the government of the island make certain traffic rules and impose huge fines on rule breakers. Making proper footpaths for pedestrians and roads for mopeds will improve the situation. Initiating the use of public vehicles will also help.

For example, there was one campaign 'Swacch Bharat Abhiyan' launched in India. It was spread in each and every part of the country. But the result was not as good as the advertisement of the campaign was. Any step taken can never be fully successful. Also few years back, a concept of 'odd-even' was launched in Delhi to control the pollution. But it was not as good as it was in China. Any step that was successful in some other place, does not mean that it will be the same in other parts of the world.

The reasoning stated by the author could have been more logically sound if he or she would have said that liming rental services will not help. But limiting the number of moped import in the island as well as number of moped companies will help. If town councils ban moped rental services, it might be that people start purchasing their own ways of transportation. Only sticking to this moped reason will not eradicate this problem. Finding other causes to this problem and focusing on that will lead to reduction of the issue in a better way.

A safe, accident-free nation in wanted by every citizen. This will not only make a better quality life of residents but will also lead to increased tourism. For attaining such goals, the town council is following the right path. However, this author`s argument is not significant enough to believe the urgency of the problem.