An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

It might be true that there can be a deficiency of vitamin A among impoverished nation of Tagus, but the claim that is explaining the above statement is not strong enough. Many things have been assumed in the argument that are untrue and rife with holes and thus, can not make the government fully agree to the promotion of new type of millet.

The author first talks about the international development organization, who is planning to reduce vitamin A deficiency in impoverished nation of Tagus . This claim seems wrong that is the organisation really aiming towards the reduction of vitamin A deficiency . in an impoverished nation there are several other health issues that need to be addressed, other than this. And why the organisation is focusing only on Tagus , there must be some other nations as well . The author was supposed to give a specific reason on why Tagus was only chosen only for the attention by the organization and why only this health issue is being addressed .

The claim given by the author is that the new variety of millet costs more, due to which farmers will be paid subsidies by the government . This step is totally against the development of the country . Firstly in a poor nation, grains or products with high prices should not be sold . The subsidy will benefit only the farmers but not the common people . Common people have to pay high prices for the crops . Above all, subsidy given to farmers will lead to reduction in the fund of government, which will slow down the economy of the country . This whole process will over all contribute to negative growth of the country .The author is again taking an assumption that people will readily accept the new variety of millet, as it is already a part of their staple diet . But we should think that if some grain or food is already included in the diet of the people , why would they want to purchase a new one and that too, high priced .

If the new produced variety of millets would have low price , it would have been accepted by the people .Also if it this initiative would have been taken by not only a single country , but by some more countries of that continent , then this new crop would have been in a better position in the market for selling purposes . Also, if the international organisation would have planned for some other crop , then this argument would have been a little bit more strong in a positive way. People would have readily accepted some new crop in their diet .

The initiative taken by the international organisation of reducing vitamin A deficiency in the impoverished nation of Tagus is very nice and if implemented , would actually lead to the betterment of the people of that country . But the reasoning presented by the author is not strong enough to make the government of that country believe that this step would be beneficial for them and their citizens , if implemented in a successful way .