The following appeared in an Avia Airlines departmental memorandum:

“On average, 9 out of every 1,000 passengers who traveled on Avia Airlines last year filed

a complaint about our baggage-handling procedures. This means that although some 1

percent of our passengers were unhappy with those procedures, the overwhelming

majority were quite satisfied with them; thus it would appear that a review of the

procedures is not important to our goal of maintaining or increasing the number of Avia’s

passengers.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument that very low percentage of complaints indicate that there is no need to update procedures in order to increase passengers is not entirely logically convincing, because it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, the argument assumes that only 9 out of 1000 travelers had a complaint about baggage-handling procedures. Actually, Author’s evidence provide just recorded complaints. It is possible that more passengers have compliant about rules but doesn’t want to rate it to company. Because it takes time to complain about procedures to airlines companies that people are unwilling to prefer to do it. For example, a passenger had a problem with procedures of Avia Airlines and got angry, then he decided to never use same airlines again, rather than to complain it.

Secondly, the argument never addresses customer satisfaction. In the world, it is entirely necessary issue for companies that internet and its derivatives present many websites related to companies’ services and customers are able to comment their opinion in there. Perhaps, number of complaints is low, but they could comment dissatisfaction about Avia Airlines that leads to drop in travelers. For example, if company never reply complaints of customers, websites like Trip-Advisor which have millions of visitors, would decrease their customer satisfaction points.

Finally, the argument omits data about number of total complaints in total and in specific regions. Every year, the millions of people fly with plane as well as in Avia Airlines too. According to given details there are 9000 complaints in every million passengers which quiet big number for an airlines. Total number of customers wasn’t provided in author’s conclusion. Additionally, data was an average of total, it could more in some locations such as big cities. In Metropolitans as Istanbul, New-York or Hong Kong, there are millions of passengers use their airport that such big crowds in airports lead to difficulties to acquire their baggage. For Example, Customers who used Istanbul Airport made 100 complaints out of 1000 but this number drop because of low numbers in other locations.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound.

The evidence in support of conclusion could be to detailed research about reasons behind of complaints and numbers of them in different locations. Company executives possibly respond every complaint to increase their reputation in industry that they care every one of their customers as special person.

Ultimately, the argument might have been weakened by written flaws and wrong assumptions in Author’s argument.