The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

In the magazine article it is stated that Promofoods denies that their canned tuna can cause dizziness and nausea, neither that consuming it would pose any health threats. The company argued that they asked their chemists to conduct a series of tests on certain samples. According to their results,five of the common chemicals responsible for these reactions were not found in the samples, and the remaining chemicals could not be the cause since all canned food naturally posses them. However, each of these arguments results unconvincing. In the next paragraphs, it will be exposed that they lack imprescindible data that would provide validity to them.

Firstly, the fact that they analyzed only the eight most common chemicals. Does that guarantee that their product does not possess any substance that could account for the effects?. Even if the results were irrefutable (which they are not), it could happen to be the case that an uncommon chemical is causing adverse effects on certain patients. Similalry, they failed to evaluate which are the characteristics of the consumers with issues. Maybe it is uncommon that one of these substances is innocuos for the younger healthier, but not for older consumers who may suffer from other conditions that trigger these symptoms.

Secondly, it is stated that eight million cans were returned for testing, yet, what is the number of cans that were actually tested?. It is possible that they decided to test on fifty cans of the eight million pool, or test cans from only one lot with similar characteristics. Additionally, there exists a potential bias when the people conducting the research are the employees of the company and it is in their best interest that the results refute a negative conclusion. Where the researchers in the optimal condition to show impartiality? If those circumstances turned to be true, then their study would have failed to perform an extensive research that could advocate for meaningful results.

Those are some of the reasons why the statement as it stands now is flawed. Clearly, in order to reach a sound conclusion, it is required that further information is provided to support their assumptions and to assess the validity of their arguments. If Promofoods could supply data that would deny that could answer the above presented inqueries, then their declaration could be more convincing.