The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument above is about an email sent by the director of marketing at of the classical Shakespeare Theatre. The marketing director suggests instituting a “Shakespeare in the Park program” that will help to increase profit by attracting more audience. The director has mentioned a nearby Avon Repertory Company that started similar program two years ago and increased the sales by 10 percent, so he is thinking of extrapolating same idea to Shakespeare theatre. Before this recommendation be evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First, will “Shakespeare in the Park program” applied by the nearby Avon Repertory be lucrative to the theatre? The director is making an assumption that the nearby company’s strategy will be beneficial to his Theatre too. The audience of Shakespeare might not like such a program to be applied because this might affect the perception of Shakespeare in their mind as a Classical theatre show. If this scenario merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Second, Will the increase in the advertisement increase the audience? There might be problem with the advertisement content that the company is using. Therefore, there is no positive result of the increase in the advertisement due to poor contents the company is representing. In addition, if the increased advertisement is not targeted to the right target market, the decline would be predicted. If examples proven is true then the argument does not hold water.

Third, was the 10 percent increase of Avon Repertory Company a direct result of applying the recommended program? The Avon Repertory Company might have started another advertisement campaign in parallel to the mentioned program, which was the result of the 10 percent increase of profit in for two years. If this scenario was correct, then the program did not contribute into the increase in profit.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to give more information about assumptions stated, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.