The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the e-mail sent by the Marketing Director of Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville, he recommends that a program named Shakespeare in the Park should be implemented this summer to attract new audience customers as their customers were declined rapidly with profit. This conclusion is made on the assumption that Avon Repertory Company started a free plays in the Park program and this program has profits increased by 10% and they expect the same will happen with their company. However, after more detailed facts are concerned and more light is shed on the issue, lack of answers through the arguments, leads me to question its validity.

First of all, Is the scenario same since 2 years? In other words, do people who were interested before 2 years feel the same now? It might be possible that people might be bored and they want some entertainment to have. In this way they might have opted for a play top watch and this lead to increase in the profits. Maybe people who were living in that area might leave the city now. If the above mentioned assumptions are true, then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, how good is the prediction made? Is the prediction accurate? How can someone be so sure about the increase in profits of a particular company? Just because it worked with one company that doesn’t mean it can work with every other company. Maybe the company which was successful has made a really good content for the play which attracted the customer. There is a possibility that there might be no competition 2 years back which in turn increased the profits. If the above mentioned scenario holds merit, then the argument doesn’t hold water.

Thirdly, are people really interested in plays now? It is possible that there was no entertainment 2 years back. Maybe there were no good movies or light shows happened at that time. In that case only possible entertainment will be the plays. If the above mentioned scenario is true, then the argument doesn’t hold strength.

To conclude, the argument stands as of now is considerably flawed. However, if more evidence is offered and answers to the questions are offered by Marketing Director then the argument can be possibly evaluated.