The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Therefore, I recommend that we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program of our own. If we do so, I predict that our profits will also see a significant increase."

The dilemma that how to attract more people to shows and make profit has complicated marketing director of the Classical shakespear Theatre of Bardville. The author of the e-mail recommends that the theater should start a 'shakerspears in the park' program to have significant increase in profit. While innitiating such program might be helpful in enlarging profits, several questions should be answered to decide whether it will reach predicted outcome.

To begin with, the director needs to answer whether 'free plays in the park' program is the main imputes that drove up the profits in avon repertory company two years ago. if it is this program that publicizes this company and thus attracts more audiences, then it might be grounded to mimic similar program in shakerspeare theater. On the other hand, when the major factosr leading to increase in profit lie in others aspects, then simply starting a new program is meaningless. For example, if people found their plays interesting and educational, then many would pay for it, thereby increasing the profits. it is also likely that avon repertory company offer reasonable prices or discount to audiences, and so affordable to the masses. Larger quantity will compesate the relatively little cost. In this case, lowering down the tick price to shakespear play could be a wiser solution. In addition, the author should also suggest whether condition today is comparable to that two years ago. if economy in the socity has been in recession this year but was prosper two years ago, then business circumstance should be blamed for low profit.

Moreover, another question needs to be answered is whether 'shakespeare in the park' program will persistently attract more audiences. starting such a program might be beneficial when low attendence is resulted from ignorance of people. when people are provided with opportunity to touch with, get familiar with or even become interest in the play, then it is promising that more audiences will be attracted to the theater. Nevertheless, there is no guarantee that more audiences will attend the show in the theater. As mentioned above, if the price of ticket to shakerspeare play is not affordable to many people, even though many of them are curious about the show, they cannot afford to attend. Furthermore, some people, after trying free activity found themselves no interest in the play, would definitely not attend the play in the theater. Therefore, such an institution might not be the best appraoch to attract audiences. there might be other even better ways, such as improving theater equipment and audiences or making the play more captivating.

Last but not least, the author unfairly suggests that starting the program in summer would enhance the profit. To better evaluate the argument, the author should also mention the relevant cost. In all likelihood, when organizing such an activities cost a lot, including rents, labor cost and so forth, but the increased revenue is much lower, it might not be worthwhile to follow what avon repertory company did. Unless revenue will largely outweigh costs, we should be cautious about our decison. Additionally, we should also be offered about the detailed information about this show. whether it is suitable to perform outside? whether it would achieve desirable effect similar to the play in the theater? whether there is enough population in the park during the program. Due to uncertainties involved in such program, the recommendation might not be justified.

To sum up, as it stands, the recommendation by marketing director is replied on mutiple unanswered questions. To fully evaluate whether such suggestion would have the predicted result, the author should provide the evidences as follows: first, whether free program is the major spur to improving profits in avon repertory Compan; second, whether 'shakespeare in the park' can successfully draw potential audiences' attentions; finally, whether it will gain more profit when doing so.