The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine."Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey aske

In this statement the author predicts that the Whirlwind video games will get more sale dramatically in the next dew month. To support the conclusion the author cites a survey which showed the interests of video-game players. Because the survey formed the stategy presently, the author makes this conclusion while it is problematic.There are some loopholes and let's evaluate them carefully.

To begin with, the suvery is not compelling by the unknown scale which could make wrong detemination. Because the author does not tell us how many people involved in this survey, we can not make the conclusion of what the players' interests. Maybe there are only a few people took the survey which reprsents the minorities' favor, it would be unpredictable if the company ignore the major trend of this area in that it will cost not huge lost. What's more, given the survey shows that players feel like the games with lifelike graphics which require most up-to-date computers, whether the players will update the computers of their own is in question.Because compared with games ,the PCs are much more expensive than gaming discs. If the company introduce many games with high computer demands, they would not be welcomed by players.

In addtion, the author tells us that the company made extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-years old, which is the age-group most likely to play video games. First of all, whether the game popular among players does not depend on the advertisements in most case, unlike clothes or other merchandizes, if the game is playable , more and more people will join it thus it is popluar. A video-game company should concerntrate on the games instead of advertising which bring less profits. Seconldy, the age-group that most people likely to play games is not supported by the author because therer is no convincing evidence to prove this point. Maybe the people under 10 or over 25 still like games, maybe the kind of games should be classified.

Finally, the author seems to be too hasty to predict the profits in coming months.In a few months the sales of the companies' dramastical increasing is in question. Besides the unconvincing evidence we discussed above, the time of few month is to short to witness a dramastical increasing in sales as the result would not be observed by us immediately. There is a process of market to accept the games which cost times.

In conclusion, the conclusion is not well supported by the evidence.To support the statement, the author should make an exhautive survey of video-game players and the games introduced by the company. On the other hand, the company should focus on the games rahter than advertisements.