The following appeared in an editorial in a Prunty County newspaper.

"In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County recently lowered its speed limit from 55 miles per hour to 45 on all major county roads. But the 55 mph limit should be restored, because this safety effort has failed. Most drivers are exceeding the new speed limit and the accident rate throughout Prunty County has decreased only slightly. If we want to improve the safety of our roads, we should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths and resurfacing rough roads. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In an editorial from a prunty county newspaper states that the speed limit should be restored to 55mph and improve the safety of roads by widening roads and resurfacing them to lower the accident rate. even, butler county has performed the same method to decrease the accident rate five years ago was stated. However, before this specific evidence is enough to evaluate the argument, these questions must be answered.

Firstly, is the traffic of prunty county comparable with butler county? In other words, the traffic of both of them may not be comparable and the number of people using them may not be related to each other. if there is any evidence of the percentage of citizens using these roads that are comparable this evidence can be evaluated. if the above cannot be proved, the evidence weakens the argument.

Secondly, by widening roads and properly constructing and smoothening them is the accident rate decreased? it means the accidents may be at the junctions due to lack of proper signal maintenance or due to the number of diversified roads from a converged road. Only by increasing of length of roads there is no evidence that accidents are lowered. if the above holds true, the argument doesn't hold water. We need proper reasons for the accidents occurring in prunty county roads.

Thirdly, is there any possibility that restoring the speed limit to 55mph leads to decline of accident rates? In other words, even though the speed limit is increased the drivers may increase even this speed limit and this may be due to very smooth roads and lack of speed breakers. this results in the weakening of argument and evidence doesn't hold strong.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably weakened due to lack of proper evidence and based on unwarranted assumptions. if the author is able to answer the above questions and provide proper evidence to prove them correct, then it will be possible to restore the speed and roads can be increased to proper length and can be repaired from damages.