The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the preceding statement, the author claims that the bicyclists lack the awareness for safety requirement other than helmets and the government needs to conduct the education program for informing the riders. The author bases his conclusion on the evidence that the bicyclists are trying more risky rides thinking they are wearing the helmets for their safety and are getting into more accidents than earlier. The author's intent is innocuous; However, the premises on which he bases his conclusion is ambiguous and needs to provide further elucidations to bridge the gap between the evidence and the conclusion.

The initial problem with the argument is the possible flaws in the data on which his assertion is standing. The data provided is just the percentage which provides only an approximal values for any statistics. It is entirely possible that the "200 percent increase" in accident, might have occured to bicyclists not wearing the helmets at all. If the number of riders decreased by tremendous amount in the ten-year period, then the percentage of accidents would exceed the earlier value even if the number of accidents remained the same. Furthermore, the increase in percentage of helmet wearers also does not provide infallible evidence for the conclusion for the same reason as earlier. Besides, the author has not guaranteed the reliability or accuracy of the data. The study was dispersed to ten years which might have encouraged the data collectors to be unfaithful. Unless the author accounts for the steadiness of the data and provides numbers instead of percentage, the argument will undermine itself.

Moreover, the unsubstantiated premise that the accidents are caused due to the risk taken by the bicyclists brings the argument further downwards. There is a complete possibility that the accidents occured are due to the mistakes of motor vehicles. I concede that the bicyclists have to be more careful in their rides, but if other vehicles are overtaking and crossing the line, then there is only little one can do. Furthermore, even if the accidents are due to unnecessary risks taken by the riders, we do not know that the bicyclists are necessarily telling the truths about wearing helmets. Maybe the bicyclists just bought the helmet because some traffic rule awareness program asked them to and then stopped wearing it after few days. The accidents might have occured on the day not wearing the helmets. If this is true, then the argument is likely to be weakned.

Finally, the argument contains various unwarranted assumptions and needs to answer a lot of questions. For instance, is the data provided is true for all the states? Is the data taken from proportional number of samples from places with higher and lower number of bicyclists? Is there any previous government ran program that had helped to mitigate these sorts of problems? Are the bicyclists likely to follow the educational programs provided for the safety measures? If the author does not have answers to these questions, then the argument is going down the drain.

Although the argument contains unjustified premises and reasonings, it does not necessarily mean that the author's intent is wrong and entire argument is fallible. If the author agrees to fix his flaws and provides the explanations for all the assumptions, then the argument could be accepted for further considerations.