The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As per mentioned in the health newspaper, author of the article suggests the educational program, which needs to be launched to reduce the count of accidents, caused because of rash riding of the bicycle riders. As per the two surveys, author also claims that the number of riders, who use the helmets have dramatically increased in a last decade. Hence, they are more prone to take risks, being overconfident while riding the bicycles on the roads. Though taking precautionary actions to reduce accidents is good, there are couple of unwarranted assumptions the author has made. Below three questions, which need to be asked to make the decision whether above recommendation is reasonable or not.

First, author of the newsletter assumes that the observations from both the studies over 10 years of period are unbiased and without any flaws. In other words, over last ten years, the methods of collecting data for these types of studies might have been changed drastically. Therefore, how does the author can trace the authenticity of these surveys? Additionally, only 35% of the riders reported that they wore helmets. However, remaining 65% cyclists might not have shown interests for this survey. If it is true, then this study doesn’t hold a merit while considering nationwide situations for causes of an increased rate in accidents.

Secondly, author prematurely assumes that the cause of an increase of accidents is that cyclists feel much safer by wearing helmets than when they don’t wear them, and they are provocative to take risks while riding, which sounds quite unfair because nobody deliberately makes accidents happen. The other reasons for accidents are also important and need to be considered such as, what if conditions of riding lanes/roads are harmful? What are traffic situations at city or rural areas? It could also be a purely coincidence that, accidents happened in the past where couple of bicycle riders were involved, while surveys were being conducted. If this is considered as a truth, then author’s recommendation will be significantly weakened.

Finally, it is a good approach that government looks forward to reducing the hazardous accidents by promoting the bicycle safety program but does this program guarantee the success of mass reduction of accidents,caused by bicyclists? Accidents may happen even after successful completion of the program by bicyclists. Furthermore, Author also assumes that all the bicyclists are interested to attend the program regardless of the details of the same. There are not enough guidelines about the safety program arranged by government such as how it will be conducted? whether it is paid program or free one?

To conclude, a call for the government to decrease the number of injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety is a better approach but certainly above questions need to be answered to make a firm decision about launching this program.