The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that Balmer will achieve annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced limits on moped rentals is not entirely logically convincing since it ignore certain crucial assumption.

Firstly, the argument assumes that enforcing same limit enforced on moped rental will by neighbouring island will produce same result but does nothing to state the population of seaville.

Secondly, The argument states that moped is the popular means of transportation in Balmer but does not state if it is also the popular means of transportation in seaville.

Thirdly, argument does not state if Balmer and seaville has same road condition.

Thus, the argument that Balmer will achieve annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced limits on moped rentals is not completely sound since it does little to prove the conclusion, since it does not address the assumption raised. Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthened if the author has shown that the population of seaville is approximately equal to the population of Balmer. That moped is also the popular means of transportation in seaville. That Balmer and seaville has same road condition.