The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the writer that recommends cutdown the rate of mopeds renting to 50% could definitely leads us to have the half of the accidents occurred in Balmer Island. However, the author relies on what might be less credible evidences or even unproven assumptions to support his assertation, that I will distinguish.

First of all, the letter readily assumes that there was a restriction on rentals only in summer last year in Seaville Island. So, if the majority of accidents have had happened on the other seasons or caused by individuals who owned a moped themselves, this limitation would not halve accidents. Even assuming that all of the accidents have had happened in the summer, it would not necessarily mean that the reduced rented motors lead to a reduction of 50% in accidents. The author assumes that only by deploying changes in rental systems in order to reduce the rented mopeds by half is necessary and enough to bring safe and reduce the accidents by 50%. Absent any explanation of how other factors could affect the accidents between motorcycles and pedestrians, I simply cannot accept the author claim.

Secondly, the author also points out that the results that are going to be achieved in Balmer are as the same as the results of their neighbor. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation, neither geographically nor in terms of time, between the two islands. To illustrate further, the accidents may also be caused or reduced by other factors as well such as the population or climate of the two islands may be different and play roles in accidents. In other words, the infrastructure development or even good and clear weathers at the time may also play a role in reducing the accidents in Seaville island. without ruling out this reason, the letter, simply cannot justify its suggestion.

Finally, one more problem with the argument involves this delicate fact that maybe Ballmer has owned three times motor rental companies more than the other island, but only a few of them rent motors more than 25 per day in which this reduction from 50 to 25 is not going to make significant changes in accidents. Also, note that only the nearest island has reported a 50% reduction in motor vehicle accidents and no pedestrian-related motor vehicle accidents, which indicates that a 50% reduction in motor vehicle accidents does not mean a 50% reduction in motor vehicle accidents too.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of the whole range of external and internal factors involving in accidents. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about what other parameters and under what circumstances caused the accidents across both islands. Without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning is faulty.