As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the thinking ability of humans for themselves is suffered by technology advances. Indisputably, technology has brought damaging effects such as global warming and air pollution. Nevertheless, breakthroughs in this sector are driven by the human intelligence and have to be managed by the human to keep working. Also, technicians should be trained with cutting-edge skills in order to deal with the rising need for controlling smart devices like satellites and 3D designing. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that technology advances could jeopardize our thinking and imagination, and would argue that this is not only revolutionizing the world but also enhances human brainpower.

First of all, no matter how cutting-edge technology is, it has to be developed and by mankind intellectuality and to get the desired final results. So, human’s skills are not going to be replaced by these smart instruments. To illustrate, let us look at the example of computers and connected devices like printers. They should take the orders from their users to solve a problem or to how to print what. In this circumstance, not only human thinking and problem-solving capabilities are not affected, but it saves time and brings convenient. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that as technology improves, our brainpower and skills are also improved.

Admittedly, advancing technology in a great pace has brought some environmental problems, however, recently in the latest years of the 21st century, there is an ever-increasing universal awareness from environmentalists to politicians about severe consequences on our lives. This is true especially when it comes to global warming and air pollution which are the result of overusing resources in different industries that therefore yield to harsh heat output to the earth’s atmosphere. So, specialists are now tending to develop the so-called green technologies, which are environmentally friendly, to keep the ameliorate the ongoing situation. However, the above argument does not constitute sufficient support to claim that technology advancement ruins the mental abilities of us. Because scientists and other people, in developing or using the technology should do the most of the task with their brains, the mental power remains at its high state.

In conclusion, although there are some side-effects on using technology these days, by developing green technology and concern other detrimental causes, we can ameliorate the situation by even better thinking and analysis which also makes our brainpower remain superb. Modern technologies can be incredible tools supporting us on every hard and dangerous work but they cannot make us dependent totally due to our unique brainpower.