Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus, it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the author, that those baskets specifically belonged to Paleans. However, the author of this argument relies on what might be less credible pieces of evidence or even unproven assumptions to support his claim, that I will distinguish them below.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the baskets found in Lithos were made by the aboriginals of that village. However, this claim relies on an unproven analogy. For example, in those time both Palean and Lithos may have some businesses together and the baskets may be bought from Paleans and brought to Lithos. Plus, it could be possible that Paleans gave their neighbors their hand-made baskets as a gift in probably an ancient ritual. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that whether Lithos’ residents bought that baskets or if they were gifted or not. So, I simply cannot accept the author claim.

The author also points out that Paleans did not pass the river because of not finding any boat. The author has not accounted for the possibility that maybe they use some other instruments to pass the river such as bridges. Or maybe, because of meteorological conditions the river had another rout which had provided them some other ways to pass the river. The correlation alone amounts to scant evidence of the claimed cause-and-effect relationship. Perhaps, passing the river or not can be caused by other factors as well, which are absent in this particular state but present in all others. If so, then the argument’s claim would be unwarranted. If the argument had provided evidence that geologically there was impossible to build boats or pass along other routes to reach Lithos, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

One more problem with the argument involves the false assumption of how deep the river is, but the thing is, time may have changed the situation. The author assumes unfairly that everything remains unchanged by passing the time. It is as just likely that maybe the river was so shallow that it permitted them passing it easily. Or, maybe it was not so broad in that time which let them pass their goods through nomadic roped over the river. So, the conclusion suffers from lack of any merit. Without convincing answers to these obscurities, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

To recapitulate, despite the argument suffers from several problems and is unconvincing but we cannot absolutely rely on it or refuse it without perusing any additional assumptions and reasoning. The author can strengthen his (her) assertion by changing states referred to the mentioned solutions. Without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning is faulty.