Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reasons on which that claim is based.

This topic raises the controversial claim of whether authorities should invest in major cities to make sure that they thrive and the nation’s traditions are preserved. Indisputably, it is necessary to support major cities, not necessarily financially, around the country, but they have already thrived and by gaining more supports they become more urbanized. Big cities are representations of one country in front of the whole world. Nevertheless, the reason given by the author for the above claim is completely obsolete and does not hold true in today's world. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that to preserve traditions, major cities should be the first priority for governors and would argue that by addressing the rural area fundamentally, we reach to the better result regarding our aim.

First of all, the author’s assertation is not completely wrong but there should be more explanations especially, the reason for the claim does not hold true nowadays. According to this, the officials should be assured of allocating adequate budgets to their most populated cities but, it is not necessarily financial support that they may need. I would like to point out that by supporting, for instance, the universities and research institutes in even non-monetary ways it could make the students and others thrive better in competitions with other nations.

Furthermore, as mentioned before, the reason for the claim made by the author is not valid anymore in today’s world. The nation’s cultural traditions do not seem to be preserved and generated in its major cities anymore. For example, Bombay in India has been less modernized and urbanized than in other major cities in the world, such as Singapore, New York, etc. Also, Mumbai is a big metropolis where people from different classes and different faiths live. In this circumstance, obviously if one wants to look closely at the traditions of India, Mumbai will be the last priority. Both common sense and recent personal experiences have told us that the actual traditions and values of a country are generated and prevalent in the small towns and villages. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that governments should indeed ensure that these villages should receive enough financial supports to help them thrive.

Admittedly, modern cities have evolved and developed to provide the luxuries of life to people. This is true especially when it comes to adherence to traditions which in contrast, people have forgotten to preserve the basic traditions of the country, far yet to generate them. In addition, to have a stronger competitive advantage around the world, administrations could invest in the rural areas with the great potentiality to absorb the more tourists they have before and to introduce the deep and pure culture of their nations to the visitors.

In conclusion, although major cities play a pivotal role in economic growth, rural areas and small towns should not be neglected because of the cultural protection and tourism financial potentiality. In fact, both major cities and small towns should be regarded by officials based on their own needs and potentiality and international incomes.