The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It might be logical at first glance to agree with the writer that recommending decreasing skateboarding in Central Plaza could bring about an increase in sales again. However, the author of this letter relies on what might be less credible evidence or even unproven assumptions to support his recommendation, which I will distinguish below.

First, the author readily assumes that it is only because of the increase in the number of people who use skateboards around Central Plaza that the yield drops dramatically. This is just an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, what if the economic situation and inflation rates have changed over the years and lead to a decrease in public power shopping that actually yields the current reduced rate of shopping from the Plaza? Also, it is possible that sellers in the Plaza did not get along with the latest changes in fashion or tastes globally, so your population may not shop for some old-fashioned stuff in the Plaza. In other words, it may also be a matter of changes in culture and desires. Therefore, the argument would have been very convincing if it had explicitly stated how external factors influenced the circumstance to what extent.

Secondly, the letter depends on a weak correlation. The mere fact that an ever-increasing skateboard user is near the plaza hardly suffices to show that there has been a sharp increase in litter abundance and vandalism across the Plaza. To illustrate further, things have changed over the years and perhaps environmental or climate change may have occurred so that it caused these current dirty surroundings of the plaza. Moreover, maybe the business owners and whoever is in charge of the plaza keep their environment and make it dirty by not observe grooming. If the argument had provided evidence that everything was in its best condition at the plaza due to its determination to be clean, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, one more problem with the argument is the final recommendation. On the basis of evidence, the author infers that skateboarding should be under strict control by city authorities in order to have an increase in shopping from the plaza again. Even assuming that it may be beneficial to prohibit skateboarding along the plaza, it cannot convince me that this is the only way to make conditions better again. So, it may be effective if the controlling process is accompanied by some other actions. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more than wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by means of a detailed analysis of the various external factors such as; environmental, economic, and cultural ups and downs in society. Without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning is faulty.