The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the article that concludes the high level of cortisol production is in direct relation with the birth order both in humans and monkeys. The author of this letter relies on what might less credible pieces of evidence or even unproven assumptions to support his assertion that I will distinguish them below.

First of all, the letter readily assumes that being the first child guarantees that you will have the most cortisol level in stimulating situations among your siblings. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, there is no explanation that the study was implemented in its standards criteria. Maybe, the number of samples, monkeys, was not enough to represent the statistical society well and it should be done in different group numbers. Or maybe, a specific gender, a special range of age was also effective on the results. Assuming that characteristics of a group apply to every member of the group, the letter fails to consider that only 18 Rhesus monkeys might not be representative of monkeys’ different species as a whole. Hence, the letter would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated the conditions of the research test and the ratio of the sample to the whole statistical society.

Secondly, the author relies on a weak correlation where it claims that the hormone increase is definitely special to the first-born monkeys. To illustrate further, we are not informed whether there were some other external reasons which culminate the double increases in their bodies such as loud sounds and bright dims. Or maybe, the author has not accounted for the possibility that some inner interaction can cause this augmentation such as some chemical reactions, increasing the body temperature. Without ruling out this reason, the letter simply cannot justify its proposal. If the letter had provided evidence that stated the environmental condition, in which the test was held, in more detail, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the letter cites that firstborn humans also act as firstborn monkeys in that particular situation. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects, and raises some ambiguity. The letter overlooks the fact that humans, who are having different DNA with other creatures, had different responses in encountering such conditions. So, extrapolating of monkeys and humans is not correct. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

To recapitulate, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of further races of monkeys in different situations and different environmental parameters. Although, we cannot absolutely refuse it without perusing any additional assumptions and reasoning.