The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

the argument establishes a direct relation between the number of accidents and number of moped rented in the summer season. This poses a need to consider the following assumptions before implementing the plan.

Firstly, it is biased to consider same the balmer and torseau island. it is possible that balmer is more popular place for people to live than the torseau island. keeping other things constant, if there are less people on torseau island than there will be less chances of accidents overall. Moreover, it is also possible that torseau island is well developed and people need less to use mopeds.

Secondly, limiting the rental companies might not solve the problem of increasing number of accidents. If people stated to buy their own mopeds, than it will be ineffective to limit the rental companies. Moreover, if such pattern of owning personal mopeds developed among people, it will not only increase the number of accidents but also deter the business of the local rental companies.

thirdly, it is also unclear whether the reduction in mopeds will result in fewer number of accidents. less people on mopeds will bring more people on roads as pedestrians and again there is possibility of same or increasing number of accidents. hence it is important to consider and supply other information in order to accept the argument as a whole. this information can be about the development in the Balmer Island, limiting the number of pedestrians on the roads and availability of the options.

above all, there is a need to consider alternatives and more information to establish a link between the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. Similarly, it is also desirable to consider other factors between the

Balmer Island and Torseau island. otherwise this argument is inconclusive and is based on flaws.