The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the argument argues that the as the population of the balmer island increases to 1,00,000 during the summer months . In order to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrains , the town council has initiated a rule stating to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 to 30 per day . To show the stability of the plan , author states as evidence the data of the island of torseau enforcing the similar limits on mopeds rentals and the plan had a positive result in island of torseau with a decrease of 50 percent in moped accidents.With these the authors predicts that the plan will have the same effect in the balmer island. The underlying argument certainly has merits but due to some vague language and weak assumptions, the argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed . here are some flaws stated below.

Firstly, author states that in order to reduce the number of accidents in the balmer islands, the town council has implemented a plan to reduce the number of mopeds from 50 to 30 per day . The author while stating this has not given the exact reason behind the accidents . For example if the main reason is due to the insufficient amount of light for the riders to see on road or the pedestrians using the road carelessly. Then how will the proposed plan have a effect of reducing the number of accidents. As the data is not clearly mentioned we cannot understand the main reason behind the accidents.

Secondly, The author while stating that the plan involves a reduction of mopeds from 50 to 30 per day has not given any statistics behind the exact decrease in the mopeds . For example, 30 mopeds per day is also not sufficient in reducing the number of accidents caused .

Thirdly, the author to show that effectiveness of the plan states as evidence of a torseau island implementing the same plan and having the desired result from it with a decrease of 50 percent in the accidents. The author here is making a faulty assumption by showing that both the islands have the same cause for the accidents. if for instance, the reason behind the accidents in torseau islands is the mopeds itself and the reason for accidents in balmer is the pedestrians using the roads carelessly. The proposed plan may not have the effects shown in torseau island because of the reasons stated above.

Although as written the argument is unconvincing , the author could strengthen the argument by adding some statistics regarding the cause of the accidents , by providing some basis for the plan proposed as why there was a decrease in the mopeds from 50 to 30 mopeds per day, by showing some similarities in the reason of accidents caused on the two islands . hence by adding these parameters the argument's reasoning would have significantly improved . but without these changes the arguments is implausible and the reasoning faulty.

In the conclusion , the author has presented a interested but flawed argument. Had the author presented the above data as the basis for the argument , reasons for the changes made in the rule. The argument would have been persuasive . As it stands however the argument is too weak to be true. hence, i remain unconvinced.