The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

At first glance, the argument put up in the letter to the editor about adding limits on several vehicles rented per day is optimistic and would cut the number of accidents. But if we closely look at the argument, there some loopholes in the argument, which, if don't go in favor of the argument would also lead to loss of business.

Firstly, the argument mentions the town council of Balmer Island have planned to limit the number of moped rentals during summers. There is no enumeration of the number of moped and pedestrian accidents happening in the Balmer Island. There should be evidence provided on the number of people who drive mopers vs the number of accidents. Even though the motive of the reduction of number of moped rentals is good, there needs to be enough evidence and data provided about the number of vehicle accidents.

Secondly, would the reduction from 50 moped rentals to 30 cut the number of road accidents? There is no supporting data on the reason of these road accidents. There could be variety of reasons why there are number of accidents happening. Some of them could be, there is constructions on the roads in progress, and due to uneven roads, these accidents happen. Oil could be spilled on the road, and may more reasons why these accidents are taking place. The town council of Balmer Island should take into account these factors, and investigate before enforcing these limits.

Additionally, there is mention of a similar enforcement passed in the neighboring island of Torseau. The data and evidence about the number of people on that island, the weather, the number of accidents that reduced is wanting. Also, was that the only measure taken by Torseau to cut the road accidents? There could be other remedies as well, due to which the number of accidents has reduced. It could be possible, that they have also enforced a strict fine for people breaking signals or crossing the speed limit. There should be further investigation, and all the conditions in island of Torseau should be studied thoroughly before imitating the same behavior for Balmer Island.

As we have seen, there is a lack of solid proof for enforcing the law for limiting the number of moped rentals. Balmer Island town council should consider all factors mentioned above before enforcing such laws, as, if the reasons for accidents is different than what is presumed, these efforts would be in vain and there will also be a loss of revenue for the moped rental businesses.