The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner states that the number of shoppers have been steadily decreasing and is clearly being attributed to the increased popularity of skateboarding and to the increases number of skateboard users. However, the following questions need to be answeres for the argument to hold water.

First of all, the author is attributing the number of decrease in shoppers to the rise in popularity of skateboarding, which may not be true. Perhaps, there is some other mall which shoppers are prefering over the Central Plaza or maybe shoppers are shopping their stuff online. Thus, the question of how the decrease in number of shoppers is being attributed to the rise in popularity of skatboarding needs to be answered.

Secondly, the owner also talks about the increase in litter and vandalism. The owner is unwarrantedly assuming that no one but skateboarders are responsible for this rife in litter and vandalism. Maybe, there are not many trashcans in the neighboorhood and it could also be the case that police aren't patrolling the area as much as they need to, this could be one of the possible explainations for increase in the amount of litter and vandalism. So, exactly how is the author assumming all the litter and vandalism due to skateboarders needs to be answered.

Finally, the author brusquely suggests that prohibiting skating is a good solution and that would help to reach the previously high level of business. Perhaps, prohibiting skating in the central plaza may not seem like a good solution because the shoppers may even be enjoying it and thus prohibiting skating may even be counterproductive and would even lower the number of shoppers and cosequently lowering the business. So, how is prohibting skating seems like a good solution to the author needs to be answered.

Thus, because of the unwarranted assumptions and lack of evidence, the prediction that the prohibition of skating will help return the Central Plaza business to its previously high levels is significantly weakened and more evidence is needed for the argument to be taken into serious consideration.