The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Shop owners of Central Plaza believe skateboarders are the cause for steady decreases in sales and an increase in vandalism of the Plaza. Naturally, these store owners would like the skateboarders to be removed from the plaza. However, before a ban is implemented, there are several questions that must be answered before one can confidently state, with concrete evidence that a ban would indeed increase sales within Central Plaza.

The store owners are placing a lot of blame on the skateboarders. From their claims, it seems that they assume that the skateboarders themselves are the reason why shoppers no longer visit their stores. On top of that, the store owners seem to assume the skateboarders are also guilty of vandalizing the plaza, further deterring possible customers.

The first assumption I’d like to evaluate here is the store owners’ claim that the skateboarders are directly the cause of less foot traffic within their stores. A survey involving the public should be conducted which asks why individuals no longer shop at the plaza. This will tell us whether or not the skateboarders were a factor at all, and whether or not a ban is necessary. If survey participants report other reasons, such as high prices, a ban would not be effective at the plaza.

Another accusation that needs further development is the store owners’ associating the skateboarders with the vandalism within the plaza. Who is actually causing the damage? Obviously, vandalism will hurt sales, and it is understandable that the store owners would want the destruction of property to stop so the environment is more inviting, but actual evidence should be acquired before blaming the skateboards of the vandalism which is being used as fuel for the ban.

A final question I would like answered is how the sales of stores outside the plaza have changed over this two-year period. Are other stores struggling as well? And if so, do they also have skateboarders? If not, the lack of sales may be due to a wide-spread economic struggle that prevents past customers from engaging in their previous consumerism, and a ban on skateboards would have no effect on the plaza store owners’ sales.

While it makes sense that the store owners want to blame the skateboarders for their economic struggles, further evidence must be obtained before determining whether or not a ban would alleviate the issues at hand. It is suspicious that a rise in skateboarding within the plaza has occurred with a steady decrease in foot-traffic within the plaza, however this does not mean the skateboarding is the cause. Before implementing a ban, information from the customers themselves explaining the lack of shopping, as well as concrete proof that links skateboarders to the vandalism, and understanding the sales trends of other shops are needed.