"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this letter claims that Adams Realty is superior to the Fitch Realty company due Adams Realty consisting of more agents, higher revenue and claims of faster sales. While the provided statistic of higher revenue and average sales supports his statement, there are several aspects to the argument that require further review.

The first argument needing additional analyzation is based on the number of employees each company has. Citing the first piece of evidence that the author provided, Adams Realty has 40 total agents (presumably all fulltime) compared to Fitch Realty who sports 25. While it is true that Adams will be able to service more clients at one time because they have more staff, the quality of service remains in question. The number of employees is in no way causally related to neither the productivity of the workers nor the quality of service the workers provide. It is very possible that the employees of Adams realty are over-worked and pushed to sell houses as fast as possible, while Fitch employees may be more interested in ensuring their customers buy quality homes at affordable prices.

The second argument that should be evaluated further is the claim that Adams realty sells faster than Fitch. Although Adams was able to sell the author’s house in a quarter of the time, it is unfair to generalize this to all houses and times. The seller could have tried to sell his house with Fitch during a recession, when there were lesser buyers on the market making the sale take longer and the asking price less than usual. In addition to the differing times, it is also unfair to use the author’s experiences with the companies as valid evidence because the quality and condition of the homes are unknown. The author’s first home that was sold by Fitch might have been run-down or unkept, making it less appealing for buyers while the author’s second house could have been much nicer and larger, making it easier for Adams to find a buyer and sell for more money.

Finally, an implication that was not mentioned regards the price of the two companies. Maybe Adams does out perform Fitch, but they are less affordable than Fitch. Even if Adams provides better quality service, they do a customer no good if they cannot afford them.

In the end, the claim made by the author of the letter stating that Adams is superior to Fitch rests on many assumptions that are unfair and carry no merit. The sellers of the house should further investigate.