Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The correct motivation behind which majors a college student choses to study has been long since debated. Many individuals view college as an environment to realize one’s passions in life and to pursue them, whatever it may be while others view college as a tool acquire skills needed to land a big-salary position. While many universities still carry the former motto, the costs of tuition and lack of financial aid for students tells a different story. College may have been a sanctuary for experimentation in the past, however those times are gone. Students today should go to college to pursue careers or studies that lead to reliable income.

While it is true that not everyone goes to college to make money, the population of people that can afford to pay for tuition just for the sake of personal development is shrinking fast. As less money is being set aside for financial aid, the students and their families are forced to pick up more of the financial load. Upon graduation, the average college grad can expect to owe almost $40,000 for an undergraduate degree with only a nine-month grace period before bills start coming in. Unless these graduates are employed with a substantial salary from a field in high demand, they can expect to pay these bills back for 25 years! Then, if these students default on these federal loans, the taxpayers end up taking the hit, hurting everyone around them as well.

Additionally, although the arts do contribute to the greater good of society, the contributions artists make to the world are less tangible than that of doctors, computer scientists and researchers. The further development of technology can offer capabilities we never thought imaginable and individuals entering these fields have impressive chances at changing the world. As technology eradicates problems like food shortages, pollution and labor necessities, people as a whole will have more time to pursue other interest outside of their careers.

It is entirely possible that the artistic world could take a huge hit if students were encouraged elsewhere, however there are plenty of other outlets for individuals to further their artistic abilities. The internet for example, can provide free tutorials through youtube, and connect artists from around the globe to provide critiques. A college degree is not necessary to become a successful artist, just look at Andy Worhol or Banksy.

In the end, while individuals should be able to pursue their dreams and interests, college tuition has become too expensive to be a realistic outlet for anything other than a stepping stone to make a large salary. Going to college with a different plan all to often results in crippling debt that will be carried by the student or the tax payers for a lifetime.