The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The politically derived statement, “The wellbeing of society is enhanced when many of its people question authority” is unique in the sense that it’s true. Unlike how taxes are handled, or whether or not citizens should be able to carry fire arms, this statement is black and white, correct or in correct. Questioning authority not only enhances communication between the people and the government, but also prevents abuses of power by keeping officials in check.

The questioning of authority provides transparency for the public, and the more the public understands how and why authority figures act on certain issues the more cooperative and supportive they will be towards government efforts (assuming they agree with the decisions being made). Parallel to a young child wanting to know why their parent forbids them from playing with the stove, societies want to know why certain rules and regulations are in place. A child who is told “Because I said so” is more likely to act out of curiosity or spite and play with the stove. However, a child who is told that they risk burning their hand after asking to play with the stove will follow the parent’s directions. Constant dialogue regarding the operations and motivations between the public and authority will create a more cooperative and supportive relationship, allowing both groups to work together and accomplish new feats.

However, questioning authority is also important if the people do not agree with the ideas and motivations of those in power. By maintaining a vigilant role, the public is able to keep authorities in check, preventing an abuse of power. North Korea is a terribly powerful example of unchecked power due to a total disconnect between the people and the government. The Supreme Leader and his officials live in luxury while the people face starvation, however there is little call for revolution thanks to the total disconnect between the North Korean society and their government. Eliminating communication between the government and the people allows those in power to consolidate power and commit horrible crimes with no reprimands from their people, just as we see in North Korea.

That being said, authority is not inherently bad. In fact, it too is necessary for the wellbeing of society and should be respected. In a delicate balance, society and authority depend on each other. Authority unites us under specific motivations and regulations, while society pulls the country towards specific ideals and goals. With open communication and collaboration between the two comes trust and understanding, and this understanding give society the ability to either support authority or call for a new direction.