Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The effect humans have on the planet is undeniable. Humans as a species have drastically changed almost all aspects of the world around us, from geography to temperature, and these changes can have serious effects for the cohabitating species. While it is very possible that the current decline in artic deer population may be caused by climate change, there are some key pieces of evidence that need to be discovered before a causal association can be made.

The first piece of evidence that must be obtained regards the state of the deer’s traditional route. Are the ice bridges no longer useable due to melting ice, or is something else like a construction site making the bride un-accessible? By knowing more information about the current state of their migratory route we will be able to either support the current hypothesis, or come to a new realization. It’s possible there are outside forces barring them from even reaching the ice bridges.

If the traditional route is in fact too thin to cross, obtaining previous trends in ice thickness and weather temperatures would help us decide whether climate change has consistently led to a thinning of the ice or if this is just a uniquely warm winter. If the ice has been thinning every year then global warming becomes even more likely, however if the ice and temperature have remained variable or constant prior to this year, a change this drastic would not be supported by the global warming hypothesis.

A final trend that would be helpful in this determination of cause would be the population numbers of the deer in previous years. By having an accurate idea of what the previous populations looked like we can better understand when this decline started taking place. It is quite possible these artic deer have been subjected to overhunting for many years resulting in the declines being reported today. If there is a significant difference between the previous two years a disease could be the cause of the reduced population. However, if the population has been steadily decreasing for over ten years, global warming would become the most likely factor.

While the threat global warming has on many species throughout the world is undeniable, it is not the only factor that can lead to a decline in animal population. Before one can confidently define global warming as the cause to the arctic deer population decline, information regarding the current state of the deer’s traditional migratory routes must be obtained, as well as the trends of both the deer and weather from previous years and decades. Until this information is obtained, there is not enough evidence to dismiss the possibility of another force. Prematurely spending time and money to combat global warming could be fruitless efforts and result in artic deer endangerment.