Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Today’s tuition bills have students and families quivering. With tuition prices alone reaching over ten thousand dollars a year for in-state tuition, students of all economic backgrounds are looking for ways to cut costs. Many look to eliminate breadth courses that fall outside of one’s area of study in hopes of saving precious times and thousands of dollars. While that may help some student’s money, the cost of cutting these breadth courses far out ways the marginal hundreds of dollars each student would save in the long hall. Students should be required to take a variety of courses even if they fall outside of their area of focus for several reasons.

Students wouldn’t actually save a significant amount of time or money. Using degree plans from UW – Madison as an example, students are required to take two or three elective or humanities credits maximum. At an average of three credit hours for each class and a minimum credit load of 12 credit hours per semester, no longer requiring these humanities courses would not save university students from spending another semester at their college. One might argue that eliminating those nine credits would allow a student to just take one class for a semester, however, students must be enrolled fulltime in order to be eligible for financial aid, and with today’s tuition costs, even class is often too much financial burden for a young adult from an average family. In the end, the only people benefitting from cutting these classes would be the wealthier students who are able to pay for classes without financial aid.

Diving further into the idea of unfairly benefiting wealthy students and families; the extremely expensive tuition costs have created a financial barrier for many students preventing them from attending high-cost, high-achieving schools creating a monoculture in most high-power campuses. By eliminating these breadth courses, we could potentially eliminate the only source of diverse perspective these students and future leaders experience. Students that come from wealthy, often white families attend wealthy, often white Universities that are supposed to expand their minds with new ideas. These wealthy students lose out on this opportunity when they attend a school surrounded by students with the same wealthy background, leaving their only hope for education on diversity being through these breadth courses. By no longer making these classes a requirement, these soon-to-be leaders from high power colleges will be disconnected from the real world and perpetuate the same cycle of ineffective and marginalizing society we have today.