Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

How to best understand a culture or society has yet to be defined. Because of this, scientists and sociologists employ a variety of techniques when studying different cultures across the globe. One commonly applied process of acquiring a quick summary of a society is studying a specific culture’s heroes and role models. Those that utilize this technique claim that heroes and role models represent a culture’s highest ideals, and by understanding a society’s values, one can gain an accurate glimpse of that society’s character.

While easy and efficient, this method is controversial on multiple levels. First off, from simple statistics, one should never generalize observations from a small sample of celebrities to a whole population. Secondly, what one categorizes a “hero” or “role model” is totally subjective and will lead to confusing or inconclusive data, destroying any reliability of the study.

Trying to understand populations is a very difficult and tedious task because it is logistically impossible to survey every person within a population. What scientists do instead is take a random proportion of the population and survey them. Only then, assuming randomization, and internal validity is present can accurate data be obtained. By only interviewing a select few people, outliers mind you, the results produced by this “study” would come back with outlandish, exaggerated answers.

In addition to a small sample size, how a role model or hero is defined will have a drastic effect on the results. One individual may list Aaron Rodgers as a role model or hero, while the next person interviewed may list Kim Kardashian as a role model. Without creating a more defined example of a hero or role model, completely different results will be obtained each time a study is completed.

Finally, the reasoning behind why sampling celebrities to gain an idea of a society’s character is inherently wrong. Most heroes or role models are famous because they are very unique or have an exaggerated skill or personal attribute that society finds entertaining. Aaron Rodgers is very good at throwing a football, while Kim Kardashian has a large butt, however, one’s ability to throw a football or the size of their bum has almost no correlation to how well they will do in life.