Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In an attempt to maintain efficiency in any aspect of a society ranging from politics of the public sector to business in the private sector, many suggest a recycling of individuals in power every 5 years. I believe this argument has merit within the public sector, involving politicians, police chiefs, supreme justices and every other elected official, however, I believe this constant cycling within the business sector could be harmful.

Within the public sector, a constant refreshing of elected officials encourages new, relevant ideas and morals which lays the ground work for up-to-date policies. As we look around our world today, it is obvious that those in political power and the policies being implemented are out of touch with the world today. Medical marijuana, for example is supported by the majority of the United States’ population, however it remains illegal on a federal level because those in office hold an outdated aversion towards the substance. Cycling our elected officials every 5 years would allow us to escape obsolete mindsets that are currently hindering progress of society on multiple levels.

In addition to ensuring relevancy, a constant cycling of elected officials also hinders corruption. Constantly switching out politicians will make it more difficult for back door deals simply because these individuals would have to risk approaching new politicians frequently to strike new illegal deals to replace the old politicians they had in their pocket. This would give the private sector less control over the public sector and help to decrease the wealth gap as policies will be friendly to average citizens instead of favoring big business.

As we transition to the private sector, I must waffle to the other side of the argument. By replacing business owners every 5 years, forcing them to leave the company they created, innovation is no longer incentivized. In today’s society, unless you are building an app, it would be impossible to create a successful business in just 5 years. By taking away the possibility for any individual to start their own successful business, there will be no desire to innovate and find a new niche in the market, halting society economically and technologically.

In the end, there are benefits to cycling those in power every 5 years, as it avoid staleness and encourages new thinking. However, I believe cycling within the public sector alone is enough to reach the benefits major benefits of progressive thinking without discouraging personal investment and risk taking within the market.