Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Within America, progressive thoughts such as free university for students who wish to attend college have spurred heated debates. While the current politicians in the United States haven’t seemed to find an answer to this issue, dozens of countries around the world seemed to have found a solution.

I, like many European countries such as Germany believe a student’s level of wealth should have no impact on the accessibility of education, no matter the quality or prestige of the school or organization. If we look at the traditional college student here in the US, a few things are almost certain. The first being that most students, especially in higher ranked Universities, still depend on their parents to pay for tuition, rent and most other bills. This is due to the egregiously expensive tuition costs that are sported by Universities across the nation. UW – Madison for example charges just over ten-thousands dollars each year for tuition alone! There are very few 18-22 year olds that I can think of that can pay that bill without help from wealthier family members, so what happens to the students in lower income families? They are either financially barred from participating in these leading Universities, or they are forced to take on immense debt that will burden them for years after. By eliminating this financial barrier, students of lower socioeconomic status’ will have a better chance at closing the achievement gap.

In addition to closing the achievement gap, allowing underprivileged students to access University education eliminates the monoculture found on University campuses. The lack of diversity is rampant among the nation’s college students, especially at the higher-level universities. Instead of becoming immersed in new ideas and perspectives, students at ranked universities are experiencing the exact same philosophies they grew up with, further perpetuating the closed-minded and ignorant thoughts that continue the marginalization of minorities and lower socioeconomic classes. This may not be a specific agenda of the faculty, however if only rich students are able to attend high-class universities, they will only experience stories and friendships with other wealthy students, never being exposed to the real world just outside of the bubble they live in. By allowing less privileged students to attend universities they are admitted to, their stories of diverse adversities will be shared and explored by many other students who will have real potential to act and make a change.

While allowing students to enroll in university without paying tuition may put extra burden on all tax payers or the university itself, the dividends from investing in children from marginalized backgrounds will outweigh the cost in the long run. By making high-quality education more accessible for all students who have the drive to work hard in academia and enter high-power positions, the racial divide will fade away. More politicians, professors, scientists and doctors will actually represent the racial make up of the population, helping to erase racism and extend the American dream to all.