People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Why an individual interacts with the world and people around them has been debated since the creation of social sciences. Even today many theories still exist: some believe our lives are pre-determined by an ultimate being, others describe unique interactions between one’s DNA and environment. While there are still many conflicting theories today, most are founded on a core belief that our behavior is contingent with an outside influence.

From a cultural standpoint, we are brought up learning the unwritten rules of our society, what we should and shouldn’t do, and these rules look completely different depending on an individual’s location. In the United States for example, when two people meet each other for the first time, they engage in a handshake with their right hands. These individuals may not know why they shake with their right hand, but that is customary. However, if you go to east Asia, a handshake is less common, and will only result in a confused stare. These unwritten rules were not designed by us specifically, but we do abide by them to conform.

If we transition to a biological/psychological perspective evaluating one’s nature/nurture back -ground we have countless other examples of people trying to define why individuals act the way they do. Today, the leading theory in behavior psychology that explains why we act the way we do involves two different forces that we are not in control of, nature and nurture. Nature includes aspects of our lives like genetics, and our immediate environment, while nurture describes how we were brought up by our caregivers and friends. Current literature shows just how much power and influence these aspects have on our lives and success. If you separate identical twins and place them in two drastically different environments, they will act completely different, showing that it is not the individual him/herself that defines their own personality and success but how, where and who they were brought up by that determines their behavior.

No matter how you look at it, from a bible or a science textbook, the major determinant of one’s behavior stems from outside forces, specifically the surrounding culture and individual’s genes. Those that ignore or break the unwritten rules of society are often isolated as outcasts by the rest of society and are often labeled with a disability that often is tied to pathological genetics.