The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a letter from a central plaza store owner, it is stated that the decrease in business is due to the increase number of skateboard users in the plaza. While it is true that there is an increase in the amount of litter and vandalism in the Plaza, this store owner's argument does not make a strong case for the decrease of shoppers in Central Plaza. It is easy to understand that the owners want an increase in their business, yet, this argument is filled with holes and assumptions and before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, the author assumed that the increase in the amount of litter and vandalism is caused by the skateboard users in Central Plaza. It is not clear, however, that is the case. For example, there may have been a decrease of community workers and security guards assigned to clean and guard the Plaza. So since there is a reduced number of workers to help clean the place throughout the day, it is only normal they will see the resulting effect at the end of the day. We just cannot say for sure that skateboarding have increased vandalism in the Plaza. Perhaps, there is not enough funding to hire people to clean the place; this in turn may have led to some people complaining. So, unless we can access to a representative of the city that can explain a link between community workers and littering and vandalism in the Plaza, we simply cannot readily assume that skateboarders are the cause.

Additionally, the author implies nothing has changed for 2 full years. While skateboard users may have had an effect to the amount of shoppers in Central Plaza, a concrete connection between a drop in business and skateboard users cannot be effectively made. Maybe over the course of 2 years, the store's rent have become more expensive and cause some stores to close down, thus reducing the clientele targeted by the type of products they were selling. This increase in rent may have caused stores to either not survive or to relocate somewhere else where they could thrive. This in turn may have led the affected store owners to complain. yet, we do not know the percentage of the complaining store owners to the overall amount of store onwers in the Plaza. To strengthen and prove the validity of this argument; the author should have a true representation of the clientele in each store and plus an knowledge of their accounts and rents for the past two years.

Building upon the implication that there was a steady decrease over the past 2 years because of the bad effect of skateboard users have on central Plaza, the author suggest that prohibiting skateboard users will not push away the remaining customers but rather bring back business to its former glory. Perhaps, over the course of those 2 years, another shopping center may have opened on another part of town which had a better location and more affordable than the stores in central Plaza. This new shopping center may have slowly attracted customers from all parts of town including the ones that used to go to Central Plaza. Moreover, the skateboard users may have brought in more customers and kept the ones that may have liked to have another form of entertainement while they shop. Consequently, prohibiting them to use the Plaza is not guaranteed to increase business to its previous high levels.

A clean, beautiful and thriving shopping center may attract customers whcih in turn will increase the amount of business in the Plaza. However, the argument, as it stands now is flawed because of the lack of evidence to prove that skateboard users are the cause to a decrease in customers. If teh author is able to answer these questions asked above and able to uncover more evidence that have caused this loss of business flow, then, it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to ban skateboard from Central Plaza.