The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Central Plaza store owner, in a letter to the editor, claims that, were the skateboarding prohibited in and around the plaza, the business there would return to its previously high levels. The owner draws this conclusion based on the evidence that he provides upon observations in the plaza. He makes certain correlations, which upon a cursory glance look quite cogent,but leave much to be answered in order to make the argument unassailable and more tenable. Apparently, the owner has mistaken correlation for causation in most cases and has jumped to conclusions presumptuously which leave much leeway for suspicions.

To begin, the Central Plaza owner states that the population of shoppers has been thinning out for the past couple of years, and he tries to relate it to the increase in the number of skateboarders. But is there another Plaza or service center that has opened up in the locality and provides a better facility to shoppers? Has a skate park been opened around the proximity of the premises of the Plaza? Without concrete answers to these questions, the line of logic connecting increasing skateboarders to decreasing shoppers is merely a hypothesis that can easily be refuted based on the lack of transparency in clearing out these questions.

Secondly, the argument suggests that the owner is trying to tacitly part blame on the skateboarders for the litter and vandalism that has accrued in the past years. There is no need to rush to conclusions without properly inquiring these accusations. Perhaps, the security forces have turned lenient and the criminals are running loose. Is the policy in security and protection the same as it used to be two year ago? Are there criminal activities that might have recently been established around the plaza over the years? The owner misjudges the situations and without any solid proof goes on what seems like a personal vendetta to get the skateboarders.

Further, the Plaza owner presents a testimonial of 'many' shop owners inside the Plaza to suggest that they have a consensus about the opinion that an increase in the number of skaters has decreased the influx of shoppers. But how many shop owners has the Plaza owner interviewed? Was there are meeting about it, and if there was, are the discussions documented? Could the plaza owner have wrongfully drawn up slander at the skaters in order to rule out one of the many factors that could be responsible for the feeble numbers of the shoppers? In the lack of answers to these questions, the statement remains dubious and cannot be taken for its words faithfully.

So, any reader can understand the exigency of the owner to write the letter to the editor. His business is going downhill. But with an argument so precarious, based on evidences which can be questioned upon with much weight, the owner really needs to base his conclusions on a more extensive research on his losses and leave no room for questions if he decides he needs to write another letter again. Therefore, the argument is currently precarious, standing on assailable and shaky grounds with much to answer for in order to be more cogent and germane.