The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the recommendation to the editor of the Journal on environmental issue, it is stated that, to protect and preserve the in dandered species from the pollution, due to mining consumers should refuse to use the products of the CCC. However, before the recommendation is evaluated some questions must be answered.

Firstly, the author states that the CCC has purchases 10000 sq miles of land in West of Fredonia for mining, but fails to add additional evidence that the company purchased the for the mining. As, only thing we know is that the company has been purchasing the land for over past few years.

Secondly, author states that there are endangered species of animals in the West of Fredonian. However, had the land been purchased for the mining that contributes to pollution of some kind that will threaten the lives of the endangered animals than the government would not have allowed the sales of land to begin with. Also, if the mining is threatning then the effects acannot be limited to endangered species only, basically every living organism can get affected.

Lastly, the author mentions the pollution, but doesnot elaborates on the kind of the pollution and the after effects of it, if mining does happen in the Fredonia. Moreover, author suggests that the refusal of purchase that boycotting the products made by the CCC will affect the company and stop thatn from mining. So author should mentions the uses of the products of the CCC company as well. Then only we will be able to know how effective will the boycotting of the products will be.

In conclusion, the recommendation as it is has many flaws, due to its reliance on unwarrented assumption. So, if author could answer the above questions then the validity of the prompt could be properly evaluated.