The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of the letter states that commuters complaining about a rush-hour traffic augmented their journey time on Blue Highway because of low-width roads and hence motor cyclists favored to widen highway. Hence, he suggests to add bicycle lane to Blue Highway to reduce traffic. But, He fails to elucidate how the traffic will be reduced.

Firstly, writer suggests to add bicycle lane to Blue Highway on the basis of last year's data that the traffic is even more exacerbated in the last year after adding additional lane to Green Highway. But, he failed to provide enough proofs that will support his statement. It might be possible that after last year, new highway or bypass road to Green Highway is constructed because of which traffic might be reduced on Green Highway. Furthermore, even if there is augmentation in traffic last year, there is possibility that rush on the Green Highway is because of nearby greater industrial area or corporate sector area, because of which traffic is more on that than Blue Highway which might pass through low-populated area. Therefore, widening Blue Highway might not be the solution to subside traffic.

Secondly, according to writer, there is alternative to recede traffic intensity is adding bicycle lane on Blue Highway because many area residents are keen bicyclists. But, again, he fails to show data or any survey which proves that residents are really keen bicyclists. Furthermore, even if they have fond of bicycle riding, they might not be ready to use cycles to go to offices or if there destination is far away from there residency.

In conclusion, the writers arguments are nothing but vague as lack of evidences to show the motor cyclists' demand to widen roads and adding bicycle lane to Blue Highway seems intuition. He also fails to provide evidences of residents are really keen cyclists.