The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Greatness is decided by someone's good "decisions" if he or she is powerful; caring nature of individuals, or someones success and achievements. In my opinion, I partially agree with the argument that greatness is decided by succeders and not by contemporaries. However, Contemporaries can also decide greatness because of two reasons.

First of all, the ideals of someone who sacrificed their life for nation are considered as great by their next generation. People after their generations will be motivated by them because of their assiduous work. For instance, Mahatma Gandhi, The father of India is ideal of todays generation of not only India but also of another Countries. Students teach a lot about him in history subjects and learn about their sacrifices for their nation. Hence, Students can decide greatness of Mahatma Gandhi even after 70 years of period of Independence of India.

Secondly, If a person cares and provides nourishment to his people, the people will remember him or her forever because of his attention to someone. For instance, Mother Terreasa, who sacrificed her life for orphans and children never will be forgettable. She raised the orphans with a great hardwork and make them educated, and successful people. And hence, Even today people respects her about her caring nature.

However, the people who are living contemperorily, also find greatness in someone. For example, sports players who works very painstakingly to win for their nations in Olympics or in any competition. We can see greatness of luminous football player Ronaldo who is not only a virtuoso player but also good gentleman in real life. He helps poor people and respects them. So, contemporary people for him also decide his greatness.

In sum, It is true that greatness of individual can be decided by people who live after them. But simultaneously, contemporary people can also see someones greatness.