The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Traffic is one of the major problems in cities especially during office hours. The commuters wrote the letter to editor of local newspaper about increase in traffic during rush-hours. The commuters suggested alternative options of problem and self-evaluate it also. I am totally agreeing with the suggestion to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway to manage the traffic during rush-hours. To deal with the problem we should find creative and practical ideas and to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway is applicable idea and the reasoning behind the idea makes it strengthen.

Firstly, the bicycle is Eco-friendly means of transportation and people should use it for certain distances. As the commuters shared information that many area residents are keen bicyclists so they will be encouraged with the bicycle lane in Blue Highway. The pollution is also one of the major problems of so many countries and this proposal helps to control pollution as well. The bicyclist will also encourage others to use bicycle to commute for short distance and it helps to make ourselves healthy.

Secondly, making new lane for motorists lobby is not good option as it is mentioned in the letter that the Green Highway is example for it. One more example support to do not make extra lane for motorist is they ride with high-speed and the danger for accident may be increases. The motorist can ride with car and heavy vehicles but the bicyclist cannot because of difference in speed. As the development is growing rapidly as well as the people starts to use motorcycle or cars for short distances also which is not good for the environment, that’s why to promote bicyclist is a good idea.

Thirdly, the idea to start different lane for bicycle is not an arbitrary thought but it is well thought plan. The accidents will be decrease and the severity of the accidents will be reduced due to separation of bicyclist and other vehicles. The bicyclist trapped with the heavy vehicles because of high speed and during traffic time people drive rashly. The Green Highway is good example and other and learn from it that due to making different lane for motorist the traffic jam became worst.

Finally, the aforementioned reasoning strengthens the argument made by commuters in the letter to the editor of a local newspaper.