The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper."Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries.

The letter claims that parkville must discontinue organising athletic competition for children under the age of nine. Few evidences regarding the number of injuries, psychological pressure by coach and parents and reduced time for academics are given. At a glance, evidence might seem convincing, but requires further investigation to accept the argument as legit.

Firstly, the author claims that 40,000 of young players have suffered injuries. However, there might be chances of suffering the injuries by indulging in different activities such as accidents that are caused when riding bi-cycle or due to slippery floors in school. The author must provide evidences that injuries of those young players were due to youth league sports.

Secondly, the author claims that interviewing sports league members in several major cities reported psychological pressure from parents and coach. However, there could be other cities of parkville where major support could be provided by parents and coach to win games rather pressuring the players. Hence, author must provide evidences regarding the study that they have done with respect to all the cities and not just limiting to few major ones.

Finally, the author provides a statement given by educational experts that long practice session would take away time that can be used for academic activities. In contrast, the author fails to provide any evidences regarding the relationship between practice sessions and academic activitites. There might be chances that all students would have managed both sports league and their academics well. As a result, author is required to provide evidences that the study interviewed players about their academic progress.

To sum up, few evidences as stated above are required in order to deem the argument as true.