The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that Faculty retention is higher when college professors are offered free tuition at the university for their college age children. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which this claim could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence the argument is weak/unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that a tuition free policy would enhance morale and lure new faculty members. This statement is a stretch and the analogy is troubling. For example, how does faculty retention relate to enhancing morale or luring new professors? Clearly there is no cohesion in the authors analogy. Luring new professors, faculty retention and boosting morale are completing different things. The author failed to mention how one relates to the other. It could be that, this tuition waiver policy worked for luring new professors, but i dont see how it could enhance morale. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated how the tuition waiver policy would enhance morale, lure new professors and retain old faculty members.

Secondly, the argument claims that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. This is again a weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between tuition free policy and faculty retention. To illustrate, what of professors that do not have college aged children? How does this policy relate to them? While it is possible that this policy worked for parents with tuition aged kids, what about parents that do not want their kids to attend Sea town university? These are college kids, hence they are mature enough to make decisions about the college they want to attend. What if they do not want to attend Sea town University? If the argument had provided evidence that the kids of these professors would like to attend Sea town university or professors that do not have college aged kids are being compensated somehow, then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, a study was conducted. For a proper study to be conducted, there has to be either a control group or graphs/numbers to enhance the quality of the study. We do not know the percentage of faculty retention that occurred, hence how do we know the number of professors that were retained? Is this number representative enough of the sample group for a decision to be made? Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all relevant facts and conducted a proper study.